15 49.0138 8.38624 0 4000 1 https://visa-for-turkey.com/blog 300 true 0

Which Countries Can Enter Turkey Without Visa

Turkish visa system may be confusing to some, which is perfectly understandable because it is quite hectic. Many countries can visit Turkey visa-free, some need only an e-Visa, some countries can enter with an ID, some even with an expired ID.

Let us sort things out so that it’s transparent to everyone.

apply for e-visa

Visa-free countries

Countries that do not need a visa for Turkey are divided into three categories. The biggest group comprises countries that can visit Turkey without a visa for 90 days per visit. Moreover, it can only be a total of 90 days within 180 days.

  1. EU citizens (except Cyprus and Latvia)
  2. Albania (can visit Turkey visa-free only for tourism purposes)
  3. Andorra
  4. Argentina
  5. Azerbaijan
  6. Belize
  7. Bolivia
  8. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  9. Brazil
  10. Chile
  11. Colombia
  12. Ecuador
  13. El Salvador
  14. Georgia (can visit with an ID)
  15. Guatemala
  16. Honduras
  17. Hong Kong
  18. Iceland
  19. Iran
  20. Ireland
  21. Israel
  22. Japan
  23. Jordan (only for tourism purposes)
  24. Kazakhstan
  25. Kosovo (only for tourism purposes)
  26. Kuwait
  27. Kyrgyzstan
  28. Lebanon (only for tourism purposes)
  29. Liechtenstein (can visit with an ID)
  30. Malaysia
  31. Moldova (can visit with an ID)
  32. Monaco
  33. Montenegro
  34. Morocco
  35. New Zealand
  36. Nicaragua
  37. North Macedonia
  38. Norway (only for tourism purposes)
  39. Panama
  40. Paraguay
  41. Peru
  42. Qatar (only for tourism purposes)
  43. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  44. San Marino
  45. Serbia (only for tourism purposes)
  46. Seychelles
  47. Singapore
  48. South Korea
  49. Switzerland (can visit with an ID, and can enter with an up to 5 years expired passport)
  50. Tajikistan
  51. Trinidad and Tobago
  52. Tunisia
  53. Ukraine (can visit with an ID)
  54. United Kingdom (United Kingdom citizens can visit without a visa for tourism purposes only)
  55. Uruguay
  56. Uzbekistan
  57. Vatican City
  58. Venezuela
READ:  Passenger Locator Form to Turkey

Another category of countries that can cross the Turkish border free of visa is allowed a 60 days stay per visit, and 90 days total within 180 days.

  • Russia (journalists and service passport holders are not allowed to visit Turkey visa-free)

And lastly, the third group can enter for 30 days per visit and a total of 90 days within 180 days.

  1. Belarus
  2. Brunei
  3. Costa Rica
  4. Latvia
  5. Macao
  6. Mongolia (only for tourism)
  7. Thailand
  8. Turkmenistan

Additional exceptions

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs updates the entry requirements regularly. The following exceptions are also valid when visiting Turkey visa-free:

  • ‘Laissez Passer’ issued by the United Nations also allows visa-free entry to Turkey
  • Algeria when the traveller is either under 15 or above 65 years (for a maximum 90 days per stay)
  • Cyprus if the traveller is residing in Northern Cyprus and travels directly from the Ercan International Airport, or Famagusta, Kyrenia, or Karavostassi seaports
  • Libya when the traveller is either under 16 or above 55
  • Palestine if the traveller is a VIP passport holder

who needs a visa for turkey

Who needs a visa for Turkey?

We can group the countries that can enter Turkey with an e-Visa into two categories. There may be some slight differences in the required documents or the length of the stay. However, I will note everything in such a case.

Countries that can apply for an e-Visa to Turkey are grouped into two categories.

There is a:

  • Multiple entry visa that allows a 90 days per stay within the 180-day validity period:

The following countries are eligible for a multiple-entry e-Visa to Turkey and don’t need to provide any additional documents:

  1. Antigua and Barbuda
  2. Australia
  3. Bahamas
  4. Barbados
  5. Bermuda
  6. Canada
  7. Dominica
  8. Dominican Republic
  9. Grenada
  10. Haiti
  11. Hong Kong (BNO)
  12. Jamaica
  13. Kuwait
  14. Oman
  15. Saint Lucia
  16. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  17. Saudi Arabia
  18. USA
  19. United Arab Emirates
  20. Armenia and South Africa are also eligible for this type of visa to Turkey; however, the maximum stay is 30 days.
READ:  Visa for Turkey for UK Citizens

China and Taiwan can apply for this visa to Turkey, but certain additional documents need to be provided first. The other documents for these countries include:

  • A ticket or a round-trip ticket with Turkish Airlines, Pegasus Airlines, Onur Air, or Atlasglobal Airlines.
  • A return ticket
  • A hotel reservation
  • 50 USD or the equivalent of this amount in foreign currency for each day of stay in Turkey

The second type of e-Visa to Turkey is a:

  • Single-entry that allows a 30-day stay

The following countries can apply for the visa type mentioned above and enter Turkey:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Algeria
  3. Angola
  4. Bahrain
  5. Bangladesh
  6. Benin
  7. Bhutan
  8. Botswana
  9. Burkina Faso
  10. Burundi
  11. Cambodia
  12. Cameroon
  13. Cape Verde
  14. The central African Republic
  15. Chad
  16. Comoros
  17. Congo
  18. Congo (Democratic Republic)
  19. Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  20. Cyprus
  21. Djibouti
  22. East Timor
  23. Egypt
  24. Equatorial Guinea
  25. Eritrea
  26. Ethiopia
  27. Fiji
  28. Gabon
  29. The Gambia
  30. Ghana
  31. Guinea
  32. Guinea-Bissau
  33. India
  34. Indonesia
  35. Iraq
  36. Kenya
  37. Lesotho
  38. Liberia
  39. Libya
  40. Madagascar
  41. Malawi
  42. Maldives (are allowed a 90-day stay)
  43. Mali
  44. Mauritiana
  45. Mauritius
  46. Mexico
  47. Mozambique
  48. Namibia
  49. Nepal
  50. Niger
  51. Nigeria
  52. Palestinian Territories
  53. Philippines
  54. Rwanda
  55. Sao Tome and Principe
  56. Senegal
  57. Sierra Leone
  58. Solomon Islands
  59. Somalia
  60. Sri Lanka
  61. Sudan
  62. Suriname
  63. Tanzania
  64. Togo
  65. Uganda
  66. Vanuatu
  67. Vietnam
  68. Yemen
  69. Zambia
  70. Zimbabwe

The countries mentioned above may apply for an e-Visa to Turkey. The application process takes less than 15 minutes, and your visa permit arrives at your e-mail address within 3 business days.


apply for e-visa

How Much Is A Visa To Turkey
Previous Post
How Much Is A Visa To Turkey
Visa to Turkey for Australian citizens
Next Post
Visa to Turkey for Australian citizens


Leave a Reply